What is your purpose?

Why do you want to learn about investing? What is your purpose for becoming financially independent? These are two important questions you need to ask yourself before you dive into personal finance. It is important to know what your purpose is and what your ultimate end goal is.

While reading “Rich Dad Poor Dad” I have reinforced the reasons why I want to invest and financially independent. I want to be free from the shackles of the work force and I want to escape this rat race as Robert Kiyosaki, the author of Rich Dad Poor Dad calls it. I want to be free to do what I want when I want. It may sound crazy and far-fetched, but I want to retire before I’m 40. Maybe even sooner if I could.

I always thought this idea was ridiculous and unreasonable, because that’s not what everyone else does. Everyone else works for 40 years, retires when their 65 and then lives out whatever little bit of their life that they have left. They work hard and long for 40 years, trying to make more money so they can spend more money on things they don’t need. That’s not for me. That’s not what I want to do.

My purpose is to retire early and spend time with my loved ones. I no longer want to worry about how I am going to pay the bills. I don’t want to work 40+ hours a week at a job that I don’t enjoy. I don’t want to feel obligated to wake up every morning a 6 am. I want to do what I want when I want, without having to second guess my decision. It is vital that you have deep-seated, emotional reasons for why you want financial freedom. These are my reasons, what are yours? 

One thought on “What is your purpose?

Leave a Reply

