Why do you worry about money so much?

The other day I was walking around with my sister when the topic of money came up. I told her how I didn’t really like to spend money on things that I didn’t need. This was when she asked me the following question: “Why do you worry about money so much? Money doesn’t buy happiness” I thought about the question for a split second and replied, “It doesn’t buy happiness, true, but it does buy freedom.” Her reaction was priceless. “Woah. You just blew my mind.” The funny thing is, a lot of people don’t look at money in this manner.

While it is true money doesn’t buy happiness, it gives you freedom to do what you want. If you are fortunate enough to save enough money, you will be financially independence. As a result, you will be able to “retire” from work a lot sooner than your counterparts. Instead of sitting in traffic five days a week on your morning commute for forty years of your life, you will be able to sit back and live life the way it’s meant to be lived.

For me personally, I don’t want to be a part of the 9 to 5 until 65 club. I plan on achieving financial independence a lot sooner than that. I want to enjoy my life as much as I can. I want to have the ability to travel. I want to spend as much time with my future children and spouse. I want to be in control of money, not let it control me. In order to do this I have to make some sacrifices, and I am perfectly content with that.

What is your view of money? Are you in control of your money or do you let it control you?

11 thoughts on “Why do you worry about money so much?

  1. You are right , I agree that money does not buy happiness , but it gives freedom . . But if we endlessly run behind it , we will become slaves of money . We will not recognize the freedom it gives us from our wants if we ourselves become its slaves

  2. That was a great comeback! I’ll try to use that the next time someone says something like that to me…

    I feel like I mostly have control of my finances, but I still enjoy reading up on the matter!

  3. Good point…and freedom to choose an occupation or calling. Many people feel trapped in jobs that don’t provide any fulfillment, and yearn for something more. In a tight economy, there is very little job mobility compounding a bad situation. We tend to think of the safety and security of savings, and overlook the freedom it can provide.

    • Agreed. Money will give you so many more options in your career. Someone living paycheck to paycheck would never have this opportunity and will ultimately be stuck in a unfullfilling job for years or even decades. Thanks for the comment!

  4. Good article there.
    Actually, most people don’t realise that it’s not money that they are really after, but it’s the things that money can buy, including freedom, and freedom is definitely something which can bring upon happiness, at least for me.

  5. SOME PEOPLE GO ON EARNING ONLY TO POSSESS BUT NOT TO ENJOY. THEY DERIVE PLEASURE ONLY BY LOOKING AT THEIR GROWING BANK BALANCES.

      • Agreed. What’s the point of building all that money if they can’t even spend it? It’s not like they can take it with them when they die!

Leave a Reply

