Introduction

Hello and welcome to my free guide to personal finance! The goal of this free guide is to help teach you the basics of personal finance in an organized format. I have not noticed any website that had any sort of guide like this. I want to be the first person to offer a completely free guide with no strings attached. No sign ups, no fees. Just great information to help you get started on your path to financial freedom.

The Age of Information

The internet is a great resource. You really can learn just about anything online these days. With that comes good and bad. Because there are so many resources and information, you can get all sides of any topic. You have to opportunity to read opinions from people that you never would have had access to in the past. This is a fantastic age that we live in! Or is it? There is one major problem that has occurred to me during my years surfing the World Wide Web: There is so much information EVERYWHERE. Take personal finance for example. You are barraged with titles like: Debt is bad! Why you should budget today! Pay off all of your debt! Investor loses everything in Ponzi scheme! With all of this information, it is easy to lose track of where you are.

Problems

The news wants you to believe investing is scary. Personal finance bloggers cover the same topics with no organization. There is so much disjointed information, it is easy to get overwhelmed. I shut down if I am given too much information. It is almost as if my brain just stops at some point during the day and I spend the rest of my day in a haze. The purpose of this guide is to help you cut through all of that crap and avoid that mental haze. I don’t want to make a million unrelated posts that only give you a teeny tiny tidbit of information in each article. People have enough information as it is! What I want to do is give you a structured format to help understand personal finance.

The issue with reading individual articles and blog posts is you don’t know what to do with that information. It’s just kind of dumped on you with no real guidance what to do. Remember the saying: “Vision without action is just a dream. Action without vision is nightmare.” In this guide I will give you tasks which will align your visions and actions. I will make these tasks specific and simple enough so that you can easily complete them. My intention is to get you to fix your financial situation today. Stop waiting for something to change. Today is the day to get on the path to fixing your problems. Today is the day that you get on The Path to Financial Freedom and begin a long, exciting journey that will change the rest of your life.

Structure

This guide will be broken down into five major sections as follows:

Table of Contents

Part 1: Debt

Part 2: Your Spending

Part 3: Savings

Part 4: Investing

Part 5: Education

Part 6: Making More Money

Overview

This guide is intended to make personal finance easy and fun to understand by providing structure and actionable items. Keep in mind that this guide will be a work in progress over the next few months. I will be working hard to try to give you the best material possible. Please leave me feedback as I take on this venture and let me know how I can do better. If you have any suggestions feel free to leave a comment or shoot me an email at thepathtofinancialfreedom(at)gmail(dot)com. Also, if you have any friends who want to learn about their finances, please share this guide with them. With that being said, let the journey begin!

Part 1: Debt

8 thoughts on “Introduction

  1. First of all congratulations on doing this, I will be watching with interest.. Perhaps in future you can actually turn this into an EBook and sell (but good on you for making this freely available), which ticks a great box of offering more value than what you charge for.. Will send you an email as well

    You need to put some social media share buttons on your pages though, I would happy share to my twitter and facebook audience but you gotta make it easy for people to do so, one piece of constructive feedback.. Let me know if you’re not sure how to do this..

    Cheers 🙂

    • Thanks for the feedback! I will definitely explore the ebook option down the road. Also, thanks for the advice on adding the social media buttons. I have added them on to my posts so that it will be easier for people to share. All advice is greatly appreciated!

  2. Yeah, would love to collaborate if you are interested, I’m focused on careers but there is convergence between the 2 topics :).. Awesome to see the like, share buttons, makes it that much easier. Hit me up on careercrusader at gmail dot com (would love to hear from you) not that I by any means am an expert 😉

    You’re welcome Court, happy to help an aspiring blogger out.. A great resource if you enjoy your podcasts is smart passive income by Pat Flynn, Super Fast Business by James Shremko, The eventual millionaire by Jamie Tardy and Entrepreneur on Fire by Jon Lee Dumas.. These are some of the bigger names, Pat Flynn and James are best for blogging/online marketing..

    A bit off the financial topic there but they are great and free podcasts 🙂

    • Thanks again for everything. I actually enjoy listening to Pat Flynn’s podcast. Another one I enjoy is The School of Greatness by Lewis Howes. I’ll have to take a look at those other you suggested. Also, I will take a look the SEO by Yoast. I don’t have any SEO plugins installed at the moment although I will shortly 🙂

      • The school of greatness looks great, had a look/listen and seems like more material that I can listen my way through..

        Awesome, let us know how it all goes.
        Cheers

Leave a Reply

