My crazy financial goal

“I want to be a millionaire in ten years.” That is my goal for myself that I set last October, and I plan on sticking with it. If everything all goes according to plan, I will be a millionaire by the time I am 33 years old.

The reason I chose the goal of being a millionaire in ten years was I had just finished reading Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill. Napoleon Hill illustrated many examples of people who set specific, definitive goals. He said that it is not enough to just wish to be rich. That is not a real goal because you have no way to truly measure it. Goals that can be measure in time and value are much more motivating because you have a very specific point to work towards.

If I don’t become a millionaire in ten years, I will have failed my goal. If I just said that I wanted to be rich in ten years, there is no way for me to know if I failed or succeeded. I suppose I could poll a bunch of strangers and ask them if I am rich, but that would just be silly.

Another point on why you want you want goals to be specific is because you will be much better off in the long run shooting for something and failing than you are by just having a vague goal. By striving for a singular point, you are more likely to push yourself to achieve such goals.

“Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you’ll land among stars.” – Les Brown

So that’s it. I want to be a millionaire in ten years. I don’t know how exactly I will accomplish this goal or what the journey will entail, but I do know one thing: I will learn as much as I can through the entire process. I will work hard to provide great value to people. I will do what it takes to become a success. 

Leave a Reply

